Charles Bradley

Charles Bradley has had a tough road. The 62-year-old soul singer has spent most of his life trying to make ends meet, working as a chef in kitchens from upstate New York to Alaska. After years spent moonlighting as a James Brown tribute act, Bradley was discovered in a Brooklyn night club by Daptone Records and is now releasing his first album, ‘No Time for Dreaming.’ While the debut marks the culmination of a long journey, it’s also the first time Bradley has been able to cope with the murder of his brother 11 years ago.

“My brother was shot in the head with a hollow-point bullet,” he tells Spinner. “It took me a long time to talk about that. That’s why I made that record, ‘Heartaches and Pain.’ I put all that love and memories of him in there, because he’s the one who would help me keep going with my music when I was about to give up.”

http://www.daptonerecords.com/ http://www.spinner.com

Leave a Reply

